How to Enable the GitHub Integration

Log into your account and go to the dropdown in the top right. Navigate to your Team Integrations and click the Connect GitHub button:

This will take you to the GitHub app installation flow:

Choose your GitHub account and login, then choose the repositories you'd like to give Tettra access to. Hit Save.

The permissions Tettra requires from GitHub are:

  • Read access to metadata

  • Read and write access to issues

These permissions allow Tettra to search for issues and read the issue content; they don’t allow any access to code. (We also request write access to issues, so we can backlink to the Tettra page from the issue.)

After selecting your repository, you'll be redirected back to the integrations page. You can go back anytime to edit which repositories are connected (or uninstall completely, should you wish.)

Note that this is installed at the team level, so once the integration is enabled, everyone can use it. Only a GitHub admin may install the integration, and this person must be a Tettra user or admin (i.e. not a guest or read-only user.)

How to Use the GitHub Integration

Within a Tettra page, type # character (shift + 3) and then begin typing the name of the GitHub issue you want to reference. We’ll search within GitHub (both titles and content) to give you options for possible issues. Select the one you want.

When you, or someone on your team, looks at that Tettra page, they'll see the GitHub issue embedded. Clicking on it will take you to that issue in a new tab. The icon will be green if the issue is open and red if it's closed. 

If you hover over the embedded issue, you’ll be able to see meta information like labels, timestamp, and the number of comments on the issue.

We automatically pull in the latest changes, so the embedded link will always be up-to-date!

How to Disconnect this Integration

If you'd like to disconnect the Tettra GitHub integration, you can do so from your Team Integrations page. Navigate to the page, select "edit" next to GitHub, then disconnect the integration from within GitHub. Please note that you'll also need to be an admin in GitHub to make this sort of change.

Did this answer your question?